The Broken Lawn Mower


I wrote this earlier in the summer, but thought someone might be blessed by it here…

After much frustration with broken lawn mowers that we had been given or I had bought at yard sales, I finally gave away our three remaining mowers, went to the store, and bought another mower that actually worked.  We positively did not have the money to do this, but I did it anyway in the name of sanity. It took less than an hour to go buy a very nice push mower. I brought it home, screwed on the handle and I was planning to push it around the yard a few times to create a couple of blocked off areas that my two oldest sons could mow. Well, I literally made it around the yard two times when I heard the most horrible noise and the lawn mower completely died.  

One of my children had left a pair of clippers (the big kind that you cut shrubs with) out in the tall grass and I had promptly run over them with the new mower. Boy did I lose it. I just completely lost it. My poor children were standing there not sure what to do. I had one hand raised in the air and the other pointing to the mower and I was saying something along the lines of, “THIS is why we do not buy new things. We have not had this mower five minutes and because people do not pick things up in this family now our new mower is ruined! This is a travesty! What a horrible thing to happen!” (Looking back on it, I probably looked a little bit like Charlie Brown…)  

After a few minutes of this, my eight-year-old walked up to me and said, “Mommy, I need to tell you something.” I said, “Does this look like a good time to tell me something?!?” He said, “I REALLY need to tell you something.” I asked him what he needed to tell me.

He quietly said, “I am the one who left the clippers in the yard.”

Boy was I mad, but I did not yell. I just said, “Christopher, I think it would be a good idea if you just go somewhere over there (motioning across the yard) for a few minutes until I calm down.” As he turned to go, I could see him begin to cry.  

I felt the not so gentle nudge of my heavenly Father reminding me of how many times I had messed up – in much worse ways than leaving clippers in the yard.

I walked over to Christopher and hugged him and said, “Christopher, I am upset about the mower, but I am so sorry I yelled at you. And I am very sorry I told you to go away. I want you to always remember that I would MUCH rather have for my son an honest boy who leaves things in the yard than a dishonest boy who always puts his toys away.”

You should have seen the smile on his little face. That was worth a dozen broken mowers.

Sonya Haskins

Leave a Reply

