A few neat things that happened this week…


(Written November 26.  Posted November 30.)

Amidst other stresses the past couple of weeks, I’ve had several really neat things happen that might encourage others of you as well.  Especially if you are new to homeschooling, I hope that these little incidents encourage you – or at least bring a smile for everyone.

The other day Micah was going to sit in my bed and read with me, but he couldn’t find his book.  I asked him what the name of it was and I can’t remember what it was right now, but my next question was, “What does it look like?”  He said, “It’s pink.”  Micah will be 11 tomorrow.  It’s always refreshing to see how much less homeschooled children are influenced by “socialization.”

Yesterday the children were listening to an Adventures in Odyssey tape and during one part, some boys and girls switched coats.  One of the girls told the main boy, “Make sure you don’t let anything happen to my coat.  It’s the latest Powder Puff Girls design.”  The boy said, “Oh NOOOO, I can’t wear this!” (or something like that).  Hannah looked at her brothers and said, “Why can’t he wear it?”  The boys shrugged their shoulders as if to say, “I don’t know.”

This morning I told the kids to get out of bed and Hannah was in laying in my bed.  Micah came down and climbed over in the bed with Hannah.  He was playing with her and hugging her.  Finally he looked over at me and said, “Mommy, can I be the ‘Hannah-keeper’ today?”  He just loves her so much.

As if that weren’t enough, yesterday someone asked Hannah what she wanted for Christmas.  Hannah didn’t answer her and kind of looked like her like she was crazy.  The lady kept asking her and finally I said, “We celebrate the birth of Christ, but we don’t do much in terms of gifts so she isn’t sure how to answer you.”  The lady looked at Hannah again and said, “But what do you WANT for Christmas?”  Hannah looked at her and said, “I don’t want anything.”  After the lady walked away, I told Hannah that I was pleased with her response and I asked her why she told the lady she didn’t want anything.  She said, “Well, Mommy, you always get me something and I just like what I get.”

On Sunday, our church was giving out gift cards for Kroger for families who would benefit from the assistance.  Even with our current situation, I did not ASK for a card. (It really is difficult for me to ask for help for ourselves.)  Regardless, the church offered us a card and I not only took it, but I was very grateful for it.  I didn’t know until later that Micah had actually told one of the guys that we could use the extra help with food right now, but his Granny needed it even more than we did and he wanted to know if he could still get a card for her even though she didn’t go to our church.  

We are blessed with five wonderful children.

Sonya

www.sonyahaskins.com

Leave a Reply

