Car Buggies


Several years ago, when the children were much younger, I had planned a special vacation for the family, but I hadn’t told them about it. Finally, the day arrived for us to leave so I started getting everyone ready and I announced that I had a treat for them. We were going someplace very special and I thought they were going to have lots of fun. The kids got very excited and I asked them where they thought we might be heading. They replied in unison, “Food City!” Seriously. That was their answer.

I had spent a couple of weeks planning a vacation, but they were thrilled that they might get to go to Food City, our local grocery store that had just added the much desired “car buggies.” The children thought it was such a fun activity to go shopping just so they could “drive” around the store in the “car buggy.”

It was amusing for me and they did have a great time on our real vacation, but each time I walk into Food City, I’m reminded of the joyous expression on their faces at the prospect of simply going to the grocery store.

Do you look for reasons to rejoice even in the little things in life? Do you encourage a joyful heart in your children or do you have a tendency to crush their spirits? Does a crushed spirit dwell within you? We should always be asking ourselves these questions as we interact with our children. I think this verse alone should be a tenet to live by for parents. Think today how you can encourage joyful hearts in your home. đŸ™‚

Proverbs 17:22 “A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”

Leave a Reply

