Hearing God


Some of you may have seen the news article about the rescuers who supposedly heard a voice calling for “help” coming from the location where they ultimately found the car w/ a toddler in it who actually survived the ordeal although she was upside down in frigid waters for 14 hours. Many people will say this was their imagination or that they remembered events differently than they actually occurred or… there could be countless scientific or imagined explanations.

But I want to share another story. This is one I don’t share very often so I hope it’s new to most of you. I know some of my college friends will remember this as I shared it after it happened.

When I was 18, I went to Mexico between my freshman and sophomore years at King College to help teach Spanish to students from the U.S. I lived in Saltillo w/ a family (a whole different story!) and took a bus into town each day to the school. Riding the bus was a cultural experience in itself. Imagine multiple lanes with no traffic laws, vehicles of all sorts all over the place weaving back and forth and basically no speed limit. One day, after I had been in Mexico for about a month, I caught the bus and it was particularly crowded that day. I was literally standing on the steps of the bus when I got on. The rest of the bus was filled with people, cargo, chickens, baskets of food… you get the idea. It was like something you would see on a movie. Since there was nowhere for me to go, I just stood on the steps of the bus, holding on to the railing for dear life.

When we reached town, the bus driver seemed to be going exceedingly fast. I get motion sickness on a good day with the best of drivers so this was not boding well with me. As we were approached a more busy area of traffic, rather than slowing down, he seemed to speed up. I was very nervous. Then I heard a voice. An audible, almost tangible voice say “MOVE.” It was in English and I had only a split second to realize that the voice was speaking to me. No one else seemed to notice, but I didn’t have time to ask. It was as if I was compelled to obey.

Very quickly, I squeezed myself up the steps and into the crowd at the top of the railing. At that moment, I turned and looked out the front windshield of the bus and instantly we crashed into another bus. Two people died that day, including the bus driver because the entire front of my bus was crushed. When I gained consciousness, I was actually laying in the BACK of the other bus. I had gone through our windshield and through the back window of the other bus. Over 40 people were taken to the hospital. Rather than being taken to a hospital, I was actually taken to the home where I was staying and it’s another story to share sometime, but let’s just say a “witch doctor” was involved, eggs, and lots of chanting. I found out after I returned to the U.S. that I had actually shattered my left knee (still have bone in the cartilage to prove it), busted my right hip, had cuts and bruises all over me and probably a concussion since I had lost consciousness, but considering where I had been standing, it’s amazing I survived. The stairwell where I had been standing was jammed completely UNDER the other bus. If I hadn’t moved, I would most assuredly been killed.

Some people like to say that God is dead. Or never existed. Or that miracles no longer occur. Or even if they believe God is real and alive and that miracles do occur, surely God no longer talks to people. I don’t believe this. To this day, I can’t explain the voice I heard. It was powerful and overwhelming. It was real. And I am grateful that God is still active in our lives, performs miracles and even cares enough to talk with us if we’re willing to listen.

Here’s a link to an article about the little girl who was rescued:  http://www.foxnews.com/us/2015/03/09/utah-officers-say-mysterious-voice-pushed-them-to-rescue-toddler-trapped-inside/

Leave a Reply

