Bandelier National Monument (Los Alamos, New Mexico)


This place is awesome! We’ve hiked about six miles today. (Yes, I went slowly and drank plenty of water…) It was truly an amazing experience to see the Native American dwellings, walk through the canyon, listen to the wind whistling through the crevices in the rock walls…  I can see why the ancient people who lived here cherished it so much.

Sonya 221

I don't know if you can tell in this photo, but my legs are swollen. After about 3 miles of hiking, I actually had to put my right leg up on a rock and let the kids go up into the Alcove House alone.

I don’t know if you can tell in this photo, but my legs are swollen. After about 3 miles of hiking, I actually had to put my right leg up on a rock and let the kids go up into the Alcove House alone.

I love this photo of Daniel and Hannah together.

I love this photo of Daniel and Hannah together.

Sonya 228

 

Sonya 229

 

Sonya 233

Sonya 235

Sonya 237

Sonya 240

Sonya 241

Sonya 246 Sonya 257

Sonya 263

Sonya 269

Sonya 272

Sonya 291 Sonya 292

 

Sonya 294

Even the burnt pines look beautiful. It exaggerated their natural beautiful colors.

Even the burnt pines look beautiful. It exaggerated their natural beautiful colors.

 

This is where we were going. Our goal was to hike to the Alcove House at the top of this giant cliff. You can't see it yet in this photo.

This is where we were going. Our goal was to hike to the Alcove House at the top of this giant cliff. You can’t see it yet in this photo.

Sonya 300

Sonya 307

 

Sonya 301

 

Here it just looks like Daniel and Hannah are climbing ladders, but check out the zoomed out photo.

Here it just looks like Daniel and Hannah are climbing ladders, but check out the zoomed out photo.

This is the photo of where Daniel and Hannah were on the cliff. It really gives you perspective for how high up they climbed. I sat in the canyon with my leg propped up, trying to reduce the swelling.

This is the photo of where Daniel and Hannah were on the cliff. It really gives you perspective for how high up they climbed. I sat in the canyon with my leg propped up, trying to reduce the swelling.

Sonya 312

This photo is for my mom. We saw a rattlesnake and really wanted to make sure you saw it, too!

This photo is for my mom. We saw a rattlesnake and really wanted to make sure you saw it, too!

Daniel wanted to pet the snake, but he decided against it...

Daniel wanted to pet the snake, but he decided against it…

And... he slithered away. We were literally about 3 feet from this rattlesnake. He was about 4 feet long. Amazing sight.

And… he slithered away. We were literally about 3 feet from this rattlesnake. He was about 4 feet long. Amazing sight.

One thought on “Bandelier National Monument (Los Alamos, New Mexico)

Leave a Reply

