Route 66 and Alibates Flint Quarries National Monument


Traveling Historic Route 66 was great fun! This was the second full day of our trip and we had a grand time visiting historic places along the way where countless travelers have gone before us.

Beautiful old truss bridge along Route 66. There were dozens of turtles swimming around in the creek below!

Beautiful old truss bridge along Route 66. There were dozens of turtles swimming around in the creek below!

 

Hopefully these turned out well. These panoramic shots were our view from the top of the quarries at Alibates Flint Quarries National Monument.

Hopefully these turned out well. These panoramic shots were our view from the top of the quarries at Alibates Flint Quarries National Monument.

 

 

Daniel at the truss bridge

Daniel at the truss bridge

Hannah at the steel truss bridge.

They're trying to look like totem poles. :)

They’re trying to look like totem poles. 🙂

Sonya 048 Sonya 049 Sonya 050 Sonya 055 Sonya 056 Sonya 053 Sonya 057 Sonya 059 Sonya 062

Karate Kid on the World's Largest Totem Pole

Karate Kid on the World’s Largest Totem Pole

Sonya 066 Sonya 067 Sonya 068 Sonya 069

Route 66 roadside attraction.

Route 66 roadside attraction.

Sonya 072 Sonya 074 Sonya 075

Sonya 079 Sonya 083 Sonya 087 Sonya 093 Sonya 111 Sonya 113 Sonya 114

Picture of flint at the Alibates Flint Quarries National Monument.

Picture of flint at the Alibates Flint Quarries National Monument.

Sonya 128 Sonya 129 Sonya 133 Sonya 134 Sonya 135 Sonya 136

If you look way off in the distance, you can see our van. We hiked this far to the top of the mesa! (I had to stop several times, but I made it to the top. Yay!)

If you look way off in the distance, you can see our van. We hiked this far to the top of the mesa! (I had to stop several times, but I made it to the top. Yay!)

Sonya 139 Sonya 140 Sonya 141 Sonya 142 Sonya 143 Sonya 144 Sonya 145 Sonya 146

I told Daniel and Hannah I hope this is the only time they'll be spray painting cars! This was so much fun. :)

I told Daniel and Hannah I hope this is the only time they’ll be spray painting cars! This was so much fun. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although I'm sure it was gone within the hour, Daniel tried to leave his mark for the Haskins family.

Although I’m sure it was gone within the hour, Daniel tried to leave his mark for the Haskins family.

Sonya 162 Sonya 167

3 thoughts on “Route 66 and Alibates Flint Quarries National Monument

  1. Wonderful pictures ! I think I figured out how to do this. This post is one to say I love the site & I hope I am doing this right. Let me know because this is a first for me . LOL Stay safe > Prayers for you > I love you guys so, have fun & learn !

    Like

    • Yes, you did it correctly. Good job! I’m sorry I haven’t been able to call. We’ve had VERY limited phone service. Actually, I’ve only been able to call Chris one day. If I have service again, I’ll call you. I love you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

